top of page

The sound of silence


'Hello darkness, my old friend I've come to talk with you again Because a vision softly creeping Left its seeds while I was sleeping And the vision that was planted in my brain Still remains Within the sound of silence'- Simon and Garfunkel's Wednesday 3 AM Album.

Throughout my vacations, I have traveled through the journeys of sounds, listening to vintage acoustics on Bose and playing my guitar. I have discovered true sound and true music, bringing a sense of satisfaction to my ears and hence, to my life.

But unfortunately, today's modern music is not made for sensual satisfaction but instead, made for dance, and discos, which are merely artificial forms of satisfaction. True satisfaction can also be obtained from silence. Silence is itself a form of music and without silence, music has no meaning. Music is composed on silence, gaps, chords, pitch, frequency, loudness and speed. This is what forms a perfect melange of tune, and I discovered this, throughout these two months.

And every morning, I hear this sound of silence. Gentle and serene, which comforts your mind, body and soul and seems to connect you to the peaceful world, not marred by competition, war and agitation.

All the different vintage musicians like the reggae Bob Marley, or the folk rock Simon and Garfunkel and naturalistic rock group Pink Floyd, created music from their hearts, unlike today's musicians.

Modern music such as Honey Singh and Badshah in India are not music. They are simply modern noise. They are an utter discrimination to music.

Furthermore, the essence of music has also been ruined by music videos. Music is not meant to be watched but rather heard. Our ears are like an individual entity. They can only concentrate on a particular rhythm, when they hear something, and not when we watch music. When we watch music videos, our eyes take over our thought process, not letting our ears to be proactive. This is what ruins our sense organ coordination.

And true musicians can even make wonderful music, without any of their sense organs. One of the best examples is Beethoven, who went deaf over his lifetime but that didn't stop him making music because he made music from his heart, and not from his brain. He felt the harmony, rather than hearing it. This is true music, which my friend is becoming extinct and endangered in today's society.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page