top of page

Rest in peace, my G.M

Dear G.M,

I have always loved you. You and I have been together for almost years now. Do you remember that I first sat in your lap, around 4 years back? And I have never moved on to any other lap, since then.

You and I have been companions for years now. We have been in a relationship, more immense than a relationship between a girlfriend and a boyfriend, a husband, and a wife. or even a mother and a child. You have meant more to me, than anyone else.

Remember, the first time, we traveled to school together, comforting me in the back seat with the teddy bear, 'Chevy'. Since then, I decided that I will become an automobile engineer and I have been trying to work hard towards that. Remember, the times when we rushed to places, and your gentle drive would comfort me and urge me to keep calm. Remember, how the leisure drives together would help both of us unwind. I know you wouldn't have forgotten a bit. Nor have I.

But, in the last few years, you have started giving up on me, G.M. Around 2 years back, you started giving air cooling problems. You failed to blow cool air. I took you to your authorized doctor, and they made a huge bill. And no actual treatment was given. They betrayed you and me. Then, I asked for help from the senior head doctor. He too simply turned out to be a eunuch and a money making monster. I pleaded over and over again, but no one responded. I still took the blame on myself. To ensure you aren't tired or hurt, I would make sure I wouldn't overburden you. G.M, you know we covered only 25,000 km in 4 years. And still, your doctors are so mean. What have I done to face all this, G.M? Is it my mistake? Should I have invested more?

Then, you started overheating. And you lie in my backyard, dying of a disease, which the doctor is unwilling to fix, despite several diagnoses. Your doctor in India says "We have done all we could. If you need proper treatment, your owner will have to invest more than Rs. 150,000", which I, unfortunately, cannot. I am still getting educated to produce more people like you, G.M. And I promise you that I will meet someone like you soon, in the near future. Maybe, your soul is still alive in some other car, lying somewhere, waiting to be owned. But, I don't have the means and finances, to get another one, like you. You were priceless to me and you will remain priceless. As I write this letter to you, G.M, I am crying and weeping. I cannot believe that you are not moving now. You are not speaking or roaring like you would, normally. You are not winking your eyes towards me. You are not breathing. You are completely silent.

I have lost my light towards the future, without you. Your vibrant light gave me hope for the future. Hope for something better. Hope for a better, cleaner future. Hope for a more dynamic life. But, now I have lost all that hope, G.M.

People just called you 'Chevrolet Spark', but I called you 'G.M Dil', Hindi for my heart. You were a son, a brother and a friend to me. But, now you are in the penultimate stages of your life. And how I wish I could be harked back into the past. G.M, I still remember the first day you came home. You were like a new-born baby, shining bright with a glistening spark. I too was just like you. I would glare at you throughout the day. I would look at your eyes, ears, and mouth and then, we started talking to each other. It was like love at first sight. And I would especially wake up early in the morning, to give you a special bath with your favourite shampoo- 'Formula 1'. And I know you loved it. Your spark would say it.

Before you came home, many friends would tell me that your doctors are cruel. Some recommended me to never bring you home. But I fought with them. I believed in you and still believe in you. You are not dead for me. You are still alive in my heart, G.M Dil.

But I would just like to tell you one important thing, G.M. Tell your other friends in heaven, that their doctors are evil. They don't care for you.

Chevrolet Doctors, a little message to you- Start caring for small cars too. They too have as many emotions as bigger, bulkier cars. You ignored my little G.M, and only cared for the bigger, more premium brothers. Stop being bias. Be equal. And now, my little G.M is dying because of you. Only because of you.

Rest in peace, my little G.M. You were always mine and will be mine.

Yours lovingly,

Suchir Kalra

P.S. I love you.

Your teddy bear is all I have cocooned in my lap, now. Your teddy bear too is also sad, that you are dying.

Kommentare


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page